Amy Shira Teitel

BOOK INFO:

Fighting for Space is a dual biography of two fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives’ Club, Amy Shira Teitel’s novel is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb–two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space, but along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars.

BIO:

Amy Shira Teitel is a spaceflight historian, author, YouTuber, public speaker, and popular space personality. Not unlike her subjects, she is one of the only academically trained young female spaceflight historians writing for a general audience. She runs the beloved blog Vintage Space (hosted by Discover Magazine) which is also a YouTube channel with over 325,000 subscribers. She’s a regular writer for Discovery’s Seeker and has hosted numerous space and science-related shows, among them┬áNASA’s Unexplained Files. She gives talks about spaceflight all over the US and Australia.

CONNECT: