2013 Authors

The following are our 2013 Presenting Authors. Look for an announcement of our 2014 Author lineup on October 9th, and save the date (February 13-16) for the 2014 Festival!


dave barry and alan zweibel

Dave Barry

Dave Barry is an author, humorist and Pulitzer Prize winner. His new suspense novel, Insane City, will be published in January.

TC Boyle Credit Jamieson Fry

T.C. Boyle

T.C. Boyle’s novels include World’s End, which won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, and the just-published San Miguel.

Tucker and Bruce 2011 black

W. Bruce Cameron

W. Bruce Cameron is author of the novels A Dog’s Purpose and A Dog’s Journey and the comic memoir 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter.


Claire Cook

Claire Cook is author of the novel Must Love Dogs, which was made into a film starring John Cusack and Diane Lane.


Richard Paul Evans

Richard Paul Evans has written numerous Christian novels. A Winter Dream and the 20th anniversary edition of The Christmas Box were published in October.


Ben Fountain

Ben Fountain’s Iraq War novel Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk was a finalist for the 2012 National Book Award for Fiction.

JEFF KINNEY_ABRAMS_02.09.12-9829

Jeff Kinney

Jeff Kinney is author of the popular Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, which moved to No. 1 on the New York Times Children’s Series list in December 2012.

Jenkins Beverly ap1

Beverly Jenkins

Beverly Jenkins is author of African-American romance novels, including A Second Helping and A Wish and a Prayer.

JAK Istanbul (2)

Joseph Kanon

Joseph Kanon, a former publishing executive, is author of five 1940s-era spy novels including The Good German and Istanbul Passage.

kusek lewis

Kristyn Kusek Lewis

Kristyn Kusek Lewis has written articles for the New York Times, Real Simple, and Glamour. Her debut novel, How Lucky You Are, was published in September.

McLain Credit Stephen Cutri

Paula McLain

Paula McLain is author of The Paris Wife, her breakthrough second novel about the volatile relationship between Ernest and Hadley Hemingway.


Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer’s Cinder is a futuristic retelling of Cinderella. The follow-up, Scarlet, will be published in February.


J.R. Moehringer

J.R. Moehringer is a journalist, author, and Pulitzer Prize winner. Sutton, his first novel, is about bank robber Willie Sutton.

Patterson C Deborah Feingold

James Patterson

James Patterson writes the popular Alex Cross and Women’s Murder Club detective series. Private Berlin will be published in January.


Leonard Pitts, Jr.

Leonard Pitts, Jr., is a syndicated columnist, novelist, and Pulitzer Prize winner. His recent novel, Freeman, is set near the end of the Civil War.

B. A. Shapiro

B.A. Shapiro

B.A. Shapiro’s debut novel, The Art Forger, a literary thriller set in the art world, was published in October.


Mary Sharratt

Mary Sharratt is author of the historical novels Daughters of the Witching Hill and Illuminations: A Novel of Hildegard von Bingen.

ColmToibinbyPhoebe Ling

Colm Toibin

Colm Toibin has twice been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. His novella The Testament of Mary was published in November.

Karen_T _Walker_Author Photo C Ramin Talaie

Karen Thompson Walker

Karen Thompson Walker’s The Age of Miracles was named one of the top novels of 2012 by Amazon and Publishers Weekly.

The Innocent author Photo

David Baldacci

David Baldacci is the author of numerous political suspense novels, including Absolute Power and the just-published The Forgotten.


Al Gore 2011 headshot bw, Courtesy of Al Gore

Al Gore

Al Gore was vice president from 1993-2000 and is a Nobel Peace Prize winner. The Future, which is about political, economic and environmental change, will be published in January.

James Farmer

James Farmer

James Farmer is an author, floral designer and Southern lifestyle expert. His new book is Wreaths for All Seasons.

Hoda Kotb (c) Julie Dennis_hi res

Hoda Kotb

Hoda Kotb was named co-anchor of the fourth hour of “Today” in August 2007. She has also been a “Dateline NBC” correspondent since April 1998 and is a New York Times bestselling author for her book, HODA: How I Survived War Zones, Bad Hair, Cancer and Kathie Lee.

DDH Author Photo

A.J. Jacobs

A.J. Jacobs read the Encyclopedia Britannica in The Know-It-All and grew a really long beard for The Year of Living Biblically. His new book is Drop Dead Healthy.

Heidi Kraft author photo 2009

Heidi Squier Kraft

Heidi Squier Kraft is author of Rule Number Two, a memoir of her seven-month deployment as a Navy psychologist in Iraq.

11/10-12/2006 - Photo by Will Ramos Photography

Don Mann

Don Mann is a former Navy SEAL and author of the memoir Inside Seal Team Six. His novel Hunt the Scorpion will be published in February.

Bob Massie

Robert K. Massie

Robert K. Massie is the author of award-winning novelsCatherin the Great and Peter the Great: His Life and World.

Kevin FINAL head shot 1

Kevin McCarey

Kevin McCarey’s Islands Under Fire is the bizarre tale of his involvement in the preservation of a coral reef off the coast of Puerto Rico.

©Rebecca Emily DrobisAll Rights ReservedAuthor Daniel Pink

Daniel Pink

Daniel Pink, a business writer, is author of A Whole New Mind, Drive, and To Sell Is Human.


Anna Quindlen

The Festival hosted a Lunch and Conversation with NY Times Bestselling author, journalist, columnist and Pulitzer Prize winner Anna Quindlen in May 2013.


Susanna Sonnenberg

Susanna Sonnenberg is author of the 2008 memoir Her Last Death. Her new memoir, She Matters, will be published in January.


Jake Tapper

Jake Tapper recently joined CNN as anchor of a new weekday program and chief Washington correspondent, and is a former senior White House correspondent for ABC News. The Outpost is about his experiences covering the Afghanistan War.


Evan Thomas

Evan Thomas is a presidential historian and author of Ike’s Bluff, which chronicles President Dwight Eisenhower’s White House years.


Isabel Wilkerson

Isabel Wilkerson is a journalist, historian and Pulitzer Prize winner. The Warmth of Other Suns won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction.

Garry Wills @ Joe Schuyler

Garry Wills

Garry Wills is a historian and Pulitzer Prize winner. Why Priests? A Failed Tradition, will be published in February.

Local Interest

Bobby Deen (c) Ben Fink

Bobby Deen

TV chef and restaurant manager Bobby Deen’s latest cookbook Bobby Deen’s Everyday Eats is forthcoming in February, 2014.

Griff and Cheryl Day

Griff and Cheryl Day

Griff and Cheryl Day are owners of Back in the Day Bakery in Savannah. Amazon named their Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook one of the top cookbooks of 2012.

039 - Copy

Kimberly Ergul

Kimberly Ergul is co-author of A Savannah Christmas: Food, Decor, Tables & Traditions from Savannah & the Low Country.

dirt on jane_cover

Jane Fishman

Jane Fishman is columnist for the Savannah Morning News. The Dirt on Jane is a humorous memoir about gardening and other adventures.


Holley Jaakkola

Holley Jaakkola is co-author of A Savannah Christmas: Food, Decor, Tables & Traditions from Savannah & the Low Country.


Jim Morekis

Jim Morekis is editor in chief of Connect Savannah and author of the Moon Charleston & Savannah, Moon South Carolina, and upcoming Moon Georgia guidebooks.


Mark Murphy

Mark Murphy is a Savannah physician and author of The Shadow Man, a murder mystery novel.